I’ve Been Grounded

Not really. Instead, I’ve been accepted as a contributing writer for a new secular parenting blog called Grounded Parents. It’s a sister blog of Skepchick, a popular blog about science and critical thinking from a skeptical and feminist perspective, so you can expect a lot of the same outlook from us, but more focused on the issues, travails, and successes of parenting.

As said by Elyse Anders, Grounded Parents’s managing editor:

We’ll be covering the usual parenting blog BS, but we’ll do it with all the snark and wit and drunken profanity you’ve come to expect from the Skepchick network. We’ll also be covering the shit they’re too boring to cover on the other parenting sites. We’ve got sex and drugs and mental health and intersectional feminism. We have opinions. And we back them up with motherfucking citations. We’re the bosses of parenting. We’re not your mom’s mommy blog.

Of course, she also says that all the writers including me look “too sexy in yoga pants”, but there’s no citation or reference for that. I guess you’ll have to be skeptical about us, too.

None of my articles have been posted yet, but I have three in the hopper ready to go and ideas for what’s coming next. I plan to write about raising children in the Ethical Society‘s Humanist congregation, raising children in a mixed-religion family, the experience of getting the Ethical Navigators going, and just general parenting.

I may crosspost some of the articles on this blog, but I hope you’ll also take a look at what we all have to say there.

About Lance Finney

Father of two boys, Angular/TypeScript developer, Ethical Humanist, and world traveler (when I can sneak it in). Contributor to Grounded Parents.
This entry was posted in Grounded Parents, Other and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to I’ve Been Grounded

  1. Pingback: First Post for Grounded Parents: “That’s what we believe, right Daddy?” | Lance's Blog

Leave a comment