One Day Left for the GOP to Come to Its Senses

During this crisis, I’ve had hope that they would figure something out before the Government runs out of cash on October 17. I didn’t know where it would come from, but I had hope.

Sadly, though, House Speaker John Boehner insists that whatever comes of all this must please 217 of the 232 House Republicans, not 217 of the 432 total Representatives, due to the stupid “Hastert Rule” non-rule. Unfortunately, his party is so chaotic, irrational, and incompetent that he has given himself an impossible task.

The Speaker of the House will risk destroying our credit rating, risking a new recession or depression that would cause untold devastation to the American people in order not to cross the idiots who caused this problem in the first place. He’s scared of them, and he thinks they’ll take his gavel away from him if he crosses them. How many jobs will the country lose so that John Boehner can keep his?

We literally have the self-proclaimed “conservative” party preparing to destroy America’s place in the global economic system for years or decades to come unless they 1) make it more expensive for a few hundred congressional staggers to get health care and 2) reserve the right to pull this shit again in a few weeks.

What on earth happened to conservativism? As Andrew Sullivan says, “No real conservative would ever come even close to forcing his own country to default on its debts. Ever.” But we now have a nihilist/reactionary/incompetent party occupying the bones of the former conservative party in this country.

May the replacement/renewal of the Republican Party come soon. America needs the GOP to be better and smarter than this.

About Lance Finney

Father of two boys, Java developer, Ethical Humanist, and world traveler (when I can sneak it in). Contributor to Grounded Parents.
This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One Day Left for the GOP to Come to Its Senses

  1. dr24hours says:

    With regard to the content here, I agree 100%. I do wonder a bit though, about the value of a liberal’s advice about what qualifies as good conservatism. 😉

    • Lance Finney says:

      Well, I can hope for a good opponent. As a Cardinals fan, it’s fun when they beat the Cubs, but the rivalry would be diminished if the Cubs’ quality devolves to that of a Little League team.

      But you’re right, I don’t expect anyone in the GOP to be listening to me. I’ve publicly disavowed them, and that’s after year of not being on their side to begin with. Further, they haven’t listened when actual members of their movement have left in disgust, so I know that I have no leverage.

      But I care about the country, and I believe that the country is better served by two rational parties than one. The GOP’s collapse might be good in the short term for the Democrats in elections, but it’s not good for the country as a whole. I have no leverage in the civil war the GOP is waging for its soul, but I can try. It’s likely fruitless, but I can try.

    • Lance Finney says:

      Also, I’m just little old me, stuck in a safe Democrat district with a blog that averages 10 hits a day. I have no delusions that anyone relevant hears my voice, no less heeds it.

      At this point, though, I’m not sure that there’s anyone whose voice would be heeded on the reckless wing of the GOP short of someone of the stature of Ted Cruz, Rush Limbaugh, or the Koch brothers. And even for them, I wouldn’t be surprised if they were instantly labeled RINO traitors and ignored.

      • dr24hours says:

        Yeah, I think it’s really absurd. But I don’t know what can be done short of DNC winning the state legislatures and redistricting in 2020.

    • Lance Finney says:

      Perhaps a member of the true-blood Republican Taft family would have some credibility.

      Probably not.

Leave a Reply

