Post Show Review

I just got back from the taping of the Ask an Atheist show that I mentioned yesterday. Well, no, that’s not quite true; I just got back from the bar after having a post-show beer with the hosts and some of the audience.

Either way, I think the taping went pretty well.

It ended up that Andy Semler and I shared a segment of the show, talking in tandem about both the Ethical Society of St. Louis and the Ethical Navigators. I think we shared the mic well (though I spoke more), and we covered a lot of why the Society has meant so much to us as a humanist community, and why the Navigators have been good for both of us as parents.

Andy and Lance talking about the Ethical Society

Andy and Lance talking about the Ethical Society

The hosts were really interested in the Navigators, and they asked if we could do a full show about Navigators later this year. I’m going to try to get that to happen with the participation of the national leadership of Navigators.

After our segment, I went back up to the mic in a later session, when they were answering emails and wished they had someone from the Ethical Society to weigh in on it. Unfortunately, by the time I got back on stage with the headset on, I had completely forgotten what they were trying to ask. The brain freeze seemed eternal, but it was probably only a couple seconds before I said something that probably wasn’t quite related to what they were asking.

My other gaffe was completely mangling one of the best tweets I’ve ever seen:

I’ll probably have to wait about a month to hear how those two flubs actually sounded, but I’ll blog a link when it’s available.

One thing I was really happy about was the support from the Ethical Society community that came out to see the taping: David, Chery, Mary Ann, Jim, David, Alaina, Cathy, Bob, Ann, Travis, Bill, Bev, and others. Thanks for joining us – it was good to see your friendly faces in the crowd and to hear your encouragement before and after.

Post-show, we had a good conversation at a local bar. Several people from the audience joined us, and a couple of them were big fans of Ask an Atheist, so it was fun to see their excitement. In fact, one guy came up from Kentucky just for the show. He does his own atheist podcast in Spanish, and as we talked we discovered that I had been to his small hometown in Puerto Rico – he grew up around the Taino historical site. Small world.

About Lance Finney

Father of two boys, Java developer, Ethical Humanist, and world traveler (when I can sneak it in). Contributor to Grounded Parents.
This entry was posted in Other, Skepticism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Post Show Review

  1. Becky says:

    Thanks for all your support, Lance!

  2. Pingback: My First Radio Interview Released – I Think I Didn’t Embarrass Myself! | Lance's Blog

Leave a Reply

