Another Week Gone

Well, I’ve just finished living my sixth full week in Germany.  I like it.

I’ve become settled in a regular schedule, which is nice.  However, I haven’t quite gotten to the point of taking it for granted.  One example was earlier this week, riding my bike around the lake.  I’ve gotten used to that as my means of exercise, but then I looked up across the lake and saw the church spires in the center of the city and the sailboats on the lake.  It’s at moments like that I remember how lucky I am to have this experience.

This evening was another fun experience, Stuttgarter Weindorf.  It’s a big annual event during which a bunch of restaurants from the southern German city of Stuttgart set up surprisingly sturdy tents in the main town square and serve typical Swabian dishes.  It reminded Jenny a lot of her three months working in southern Germany during college, and it felt a lot more “German” than Hamburg usually does.  We ate way too much.

Stuttgarter Weindorf

Stuttgarter Weindorf

So, tomorrow we head out for another weekend trip.  Nothing as extreme as last time, though.  Just a couple days driving around the local countryside seeing cute old towns and a Nazi concentration camp.  Should be interesting.

About Lance Finney

Father of two boys, Java developer, Ethical Humanist, and world traveler (when I can sneak it in). Contributor to Grounded Parents.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

