Ich bin ein Schüler

I started my German classes today.  After three hours of German language a day, five days a week, for four months, I should be able to speak the language pretty well.  I definitely have a long way to go.  I did fine with some words and phrases, but I have to spend a lot more time just using the language before I’ll be quick at replying to basic questions like “What is your name?” without long pauses and awkward stares as I parse it all out.

My classmates are a diverse bunch, with four from Iran, one from Turkey, one from Portugal, one from Brazil and one from the Dominican Republic.  Some obviously have spent a lot of time studying German previously or have lived here a while, but some seem to be starting from scratch.  I’m the only one coming from a Germanic tongue, so I have something of an advantage (especially over the Iranians and the Turkish woman, who have entirely different alphabets).  However, I found the most difficult part of the day was using the letters of the alphabet; we wrote down each other’s names and addresses, and I had a hard time with the difference between the German names for “A” and “E” and “R,” etc.  Of course, it could just be the differences in accents.

I think it will take many classes before I’ll be able to pronounce the goal of my first morning activity: acquiring a Meldebestätigung, the official document proving that I registered my residence.  Some of these German compound words are going to take months for graceful handling.  At least I got a nice bike ride out of the tongue-twisting ordeal.

About Lance Finney

Father of two boys, Java developer, Ethical Humanist, and world traveler (when I can sneak it in). Contributor to Grounded Parents.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ich bin ein Schüler

  1. Dan Lewis says:

    So how do you say that you are a resident of Hamburg?
    Ich bin Hamburger?

    lol!

  2. Lance Finney says:

    Well, “Ich komme aus Hamburg” takes care of the silliness, but you’re right, “Ich bin Hamburger” is what’d you’d say. Just don’t say “Ich bin ein Hamburger,” or you’ll get laughed at 🙂

    Our bank here is Hamburger Sparkasse. I’m just going to have to get used to it.

Leave a Reply

