Friday the 13th

Today is supposed to be a day of bad luck, but things have gone pretty well for me so far.  The biggest event of the day shouldn’t ever have been necessary: I got all my luggage.

My American Airlines flight from JFK to London-Heathrow left about 45 minutes late on Wednesday.  I didn’t think it’d be a problem.  After all, that still left me over an hour to change planes.

I forgot to take into account Heathrow.

That airport is huge and insane (and and I saw that they’re adding another large terminal to increase the insanity).  I had to walk about a mile in one terminal, take a bus to another terminal go through a security checkpoint, walk another half-mile, and then go through another security checkpoint to get to my departure gate.  I barely managed to get to my plane in time.  Unfortunately, my suitcase didn’t make it.

I typically don’t check a bag for this exact reason, but I decided to risk checked bagged based on the needs of 6-12 months of life in another country.  Additionally, I’m going to do some software development work here, and we’re using Vonage to have a U.S.-based phone number that reaches us in Germany, so I relented this time to have room for some technical books and some electronics.

I thought I had balanced my packing well so that it wouldn’t matter if the suitcase were lost (and in general, it worked – even the Vonage adapter could be lost for a while because we don’t have our DSL set up yet), but I somehow managed to pack only one pair of underwear in my carry-on luggage.  So, I was very happy when my suitcase arrived this afternoon, full of clothing, hangers, books, and electronics.

Not an unlucky day at all.

In other news, I plan to start German-as-a-foreign-language classes next week.  There’s a cultural center across the street from Jenny’s work that has inexpensive intensive language courses, so I’m going to sign up to start Tuesday (Monday is Pentecost – a big holiday here).  If I stick out the classes, I’ll have 3 hours of German a day, 5 days a week, for four months.  I expect to know German pretty well by the time this trip is over.  Also, I got lucky in timing, because the courses start every 10 or 20 weeks, but I have to wait only a long weekend.

About Lance Finney

Father of two boys, Java developer, Ethical Humanist, and world traveler (when I can sneak it in). Contributor to Grounded Parents.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday the 13th

  1. Rob says:

    Glad to hear your luggage arrived. I think we can tell you’re suffering from some jetlag (“…That airport is huge and insane (AND AND I saw…” and “…but I decided to risk checkED baggED based…”). 😉

    Sounds like a great way to learn German. It would be wonderful to have the time to do something like that. I’m sure you’ll pick up a lot just from being immersed in it. I know when I spent time in France, I didn’t realize it, but when I came back my friends and teachers all said my French was much better.

  2. Jenny says:

    It’s so nice to have Lance here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

