Moving to Europe

In five hours, I’ll leave on a flight to Europe.  I won’t be back for quite a while.  In fact, I’m actually moving to Europe this time.

Jenny moved to Hamburg, Germany a couple weeks ago, and I’m leaving today to join her.  She has a temporary transfer through her company, Stereotaxis, to be the Account Manager for their two installations in Germany for 6 or 12 months.  We probably won’t know until October how long we’ll be there.

So, I have put my career on hold for the chance to live in Europe for a while (it’snot really a sacrifice).  I’ll do an independent study project for my Master’s Degree in Computer Science, study German, and perhaps do some part-time work for my employer (who is generously allowing me to take a leave of absence).  I’ll probably find a good Java-based open source project on which to keep my skills sharp.

Since a large portion of my posts here are about politics or European travel, I expect to be posting a lot more once I’m there.  We hope to travel most weekends, so I expect to have a lot of new pictures in the Gallery soon.

This should be great.

About Lance Finney

Father of two boys, Java developer, Ethical Humanist, and world traveler (when I can sneak it in). Contributor to Grounded Parents.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moving to Europe

  1. Pingback: AngularJS after Years of Java | Lance's Blog

Leave a Reply

