Intro to JGoodies Forms

As part of my employer’s Java News Brief series, I have written an article on an Intro to JGoodies Forms. In the article, I primarily compare Forms and FormLayout to GridBagLayout, showing many of the strengths of JGoodies Forms.  I also highlight the debugging features in Forms.

Check it out!

About Lance Finney

Father of two boys, Java developer, Ethical Humanist, and world traveler (when I can sneak it in). Contributor to Grounded Parents.
This entry was posted in Programming. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Intro to JGoodies Forms

  1. Eric Pramono says:

    Hi Lance,

    It’s a very nice article. I’ve read it during my search for a good article describing all the power of JGoodies components. BTW, I’m interested in the Debugging part of your article. Do you think we can somehow use that to perform JUnit test on layouts created via JGoodies FormLayout? Is there another way to perform such unit test?

  2. Lance Finney says:

    Eric,

    I can’t think of a way to use FormDebugPanel in JUnit testing since it’s completely visual. There’s more promise in FormDebugUtils. I guess theoretically one could use the information from FormDebugUtils.getLayoutInfo(Container) to validate the number of rows and columns on a dynamic layout, for example.

    However, I think that Jemmy (http://jemmy.netbeans.org/), JFCUnit (http://jfcunit.sourceforge.net/), Abbot (http://abbot.sourceforge.net/), or a similar product would be more effective in GUI testing.

    Did you have something else in mind?

  3. Sam Smith says:

    I’m having a heck of a time compiling the JGoodies package, trying to adapt the demo looks program to other applications. Get a number of “unsafe” checks. Any suggestions? If I have a chance to get to Russia, in connection with a pharmaceutical project I’m working on, I’d like to tap your brain for some ideas while there.

    Thanks,
    Sam Smith
    Michigan

  4. Lance Finney says:

    Sam,

    Could you provide more information? What type of unsafe checks are you seeing? Could you post a code snippet?

    Actually, I live in St. Louis, Missouri, so you’d be looking for me in Russia for a long, long time.

Leave a Reply

