The pain of Windows

I’ve had a dual-boot setup on my laptop and my desktop for a while.  I’ve blogged before about my experiences converting to Linux.  Well, I’m still more in the Windows world than the Linux world, despite my best intentions.  On my desktop, the application that brings me back to Windows is Quicken (I’ve never gotten it to run in Wine all that well).  On my laptop, what’s kept me in Windows is my wireless card, the Linksys WPC54G.  Unfortunately, I chose a card with cardset that’s not supported under Linux very well.

Why does this come up today?  Well, yesterday Windows stopped seeing my network adapter.  The hardware was fine, because I was still able to connect to the network under Linux, but nothing allowed me to connect in Windows.  I tried Norton Utilities, updating the driver, virus scans, and spyware scans, but nothing worked.  I discovered it’s pretty hard to diagnose a network problem when the only thing ipconfig displays is “Windows IP Configuration”.  So, when I discovered that my USB flash drive wasn’t getting recognized and my sound card was reporting driver problems, I realized it was time either to clean Windows off the machine completely or to reinstall Windows.

Unfortunately, I decided I needed to reinstall Windows.  I’m simply too accustomed to how it works to let it go, and I don’t have the time right now to figure out how to work my wireless in Linux.

So, I’ve spent the day multi-tasking between Java development on my work desktop and reinstalling Windows on my laptop.  My Linux boot manager was blown away, and I have dozens of applications to reinstall, but at least I’ll have 802.11b/g.

About Lance Finney

Father of two boys, Java developer, Ethical Humanist, and world traveler (when I can sneak it in). Contributor to Grounded Parents.
This entry was posted in Programming, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The pain of Windows

  1. Dan Hinojosa says:

    I have given up on using Linux as my development machine a long time ago, but I do use cygwin everyday by the way.
    The fact is vendor hardware drivers are not written for linux, so it is left up to the good open-source people to usually deal with it.

    I have scanners, cameras, wireless network cards, PDAs, and printers set up on my machine that I need for my business, and there are only windows drivers that come with them. I install it and then I can get back to work. I have money to make, and I am not going to spend hours tinkering with Linux kernel and driver code just to get a device to work.

    All servers I deploy my apps to are Linux. They’re secure, stable, and the only driver I need is a non-wireless network card. It is no fault of Linux, I love linux. It is the vendors that sell peripherals like HP, Canon, Palm, etc. that need to make sure they have a Linux driver, a Windows driver, and a MAC OSX driver for everything that they sell.

Leave a Reply

