Long Way Round – Chasing Shadows Across the World

Long Way Round: Chasing Shadows Across the World
by Ewan McGregor and Charley Boorman is a fun travelogue.  Famous
actor Ewan McGregor loved to ride motorcycles and needed a change from
his job, so he had an idea: riding a motorcycle from London to New
York, crossing Europe, Asia, and North America in the process.  He
called up his friend Charley Boorman, a less famous actor, and they set
to work.


In the summer of 2004 they completed the ride, which was financed by making the adventure into a tv show
for the Bravo network.  I saw three of the six episodes, and I
thought it was great, so I was very excited to get the book of their
travels for Christmas.  Many times while reading the book, I
wished I were with Ewan, Charley, and Claudio, their cameraman (and plus
other support personnel that showed up every week or so).  From
the planning process to figuring out how to get across borders to
fixing their bikes on the way, the guys had adventures that I’d love to
have.  The actors occasionally seem like spoiled, rich Hollywood
types, but for the most part, their initiative, drive, and endurance is
impressive.

The writers are not polished authors; many times their descriptions of
the scenery boild down to “it’s so beautiful.”  Also, the
narrative seemed rushed at the end, as though they had lost enthusiasm
for the book (which wouldn’t be out of character for Ewan and Charley;
throughout the trip there was tension between just having a fun ride
with a friend and doing the work necessary to have the trip
financed).  Despite these quibbles, the book was an enormously fun
read for someone interested in international adventure travel.

About Lance Finney

Father of two boys, Java developer, Ethical Humanist, and world traveler (when I can sneak it in). Contributor to Grounded Parents.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Long Way Round – Chasing Shadows Across the World

  1. Rob says:

    Are you still reading this? I didn’t think you were such a slow reader (or did you leave the book in the States?).

  2. Lance Finney says:

    Actually, this category became more of “What I have read” than “What I’m Reading”, and I very badly behind on updating it. Since January, I’ve reread the Lord of the Rings, reread the Hitchhiker’s Guide series, and read the sixth Harry Potter book. I’ll probably try to get my thoughts on those up soon.

  3. Rob says:

    I figured as much. I knew you’d read other things and that you’re a fast reader, so I expected you had either stopped updating it or had gotten bored or distracted from that book.

Leave a Reply

