Been a little too quiet

I haven’t posted much here lately.  In fact, it’s been since the day after the election and the day before I started a new job.  There’s been enough election analysis for anyone to consume, and I really have nothing to add to it all yet – we’ll have to see if Bush follows the lead of Nixon, Reagan, and Clinton in messing up royally in the second term (Watergate, Iran/Contra, and Monica, respectively).  It’s way too early to know.

I started work on November 4 with Object Computing Inc (OCI), working as a contractor at Boeing.  A lot of Java has already been written on the project I joined.  Some of the code is very impressive, and some was written by developers with extremely different coding standards than I have.  There’s a large custom framework in place, so it’s going to take e a while to get the full hang of things.

On the bright side, I wrote my first CGI program, for a class I’m taking towards a Computer Science Masters Degree at UMSL.  It’snot terribly exciting, but it’s there if you want to play In Between.

On a personal note, Jenny and I celebrated our third anniversary yesterday.  Unfortunately, I had class and she had to work late.  We’re going to celebrate for real next weekend, going to a Bed & Breakfast in Missouri Wine Country after Thanksgiving.  It’ll be nice.

About Lance Finney

Father of two boys, Java developer, Ethical Humanist, and world traveler (when I can sneak it in). Contributor to Grounded Parents.
This entry was posted in default. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

