A life on hold

Since I was laid off on October 1, my life has been pretty interesting.  I can only say that I’m blessed to have some money in the bank and a wife with a good job, both of which have let me enjoy my unemployment.

In my 24 days of unemployment, I’ve been to Phoenix, Minneapolis, and Chicago on weekend trips to see various family.  I’ve gone to six Cardinals playoff games (and I’m going to the World Series games on Tuesday and Thursday this week).  And for the past week, I’ve been volunteering for the Kerry/Edwards campaign to try to bring an upset to Missouri with a Kerry victory.

Right now, the job market for experienced Java developers in St. Louis is really good, and I was fortunate to be able to pick between four job offers within two weeks of losing my job.  So, I’ll start November 3rd on my new job, rested from a break, having caught up with family across the nation, and (I hope) proud of the World Champion Cardinals and the President-Elect, John Kerry.

About Lance Finney

Father of two boys, Java developer, Ethical Humanist, and world traveler (when I can sneak it in). Contributor to Grounded Parents.
This entry was posted in Other. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

