Missouri Primary postmortem

Amendment 2 passed.  72% of the voters of Missouri passed an
amendment to ban gay marriage.  I’m not surprised it passed, but
I’m sad it passed, and I’m surprised by the landslide.  I figured
it’d be 60-40 at the worst, but maybe I don’t really understand
Missouri.  I live in St. Louis City, the only county in the state
not to vote for the amendment, and I guess I didn’t understand how rare
that would be.

Gay rights in Missouri are going to have a tough life in the next
year.  There are two bills in the state House of Representatives
aimed at reducing rights for homosexuals.  House Bill 885 would eliminate state money for any institution or company in Missouri, public or
private, that includes sexual orientation in its non-discrimination
policies.  House Bill 1677
would prohibit adoption by any Missourian in a relationship with
someone to whom they are not legally married, and would require state
workers to ask applicants if they are having pre- or extra-marital sex.

How can anyone see these invasive and divisive bills as a good idea?

About Lance Finney

Father of two boys, Java developer, Ethical Humanist, and world traveler (when I can sneak it in). Contributor to Grounded Parents.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

