Happy Birthday to Me

Today’s my 29th birthday.  Back in Minnesota where I grew up, it
would have been a big deal that this is my “Golden Birthday”, meaning I
turned 29 on the 29th.  It doesn’t seem to matter so much here,
but it’s been a good day so far anyway.

My wife started the day well, by bringing a birthday gift to me from her and my parents, a Garmin GPS V
I hadn’t really thought about a GPS much before, but it’s been fun to
play with so far.  I used it to guide me to work this morning, but
the base maps that came with it don’t have enough detail really to be
able to guide me in the city.  It comes with downloadable maps,
though, so it should work ok.  Strangely, the download is through
a serial cable, not a USB cable.  I’m very surprised.  Other
than that, the GPS V has a lot more features than I expected, including
a version of Breakout.  I really don’t think I need a game in my
GPS, but I guess it’s no sillier than the games in my phone.

My birthday continued well, thanks to my co-workers.  We have a
tradition of treating the birthday boy to a lunch of his choosing, but
I took it to a slightly different level.  Usually, we go to
Chevy’s or another casual restaurant.  Today, I chose Clayton’s Cafe de France,
a formal French restaurant.  I’d never been, but the food was
excellent.  I’ll have to go back some other time with my wife to
remember our trip to France in March.

It’s been a good birthday, but now I just need to get through the
workday to see what my wife’s family has in store for me; they always
go over the top, including making a bison pinata full of cheese a
couple years ago.  I don’t know what to expect.

BTW, I share my birthday with Benito Mussolini, Dag Hammarskjöld, Peter
Jennings, Vida Blue, Marilyn Quayle, Martina McBride, Stephen Dorff,
and Wil Wheaton.

About Lance Finney

Father of two boys, Java developer, Ethical Humanist, and world traveler (when I can sneak it in). Contributor to Grounded Parents.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

