Wednesday evening at JavaOne

I hit a couple BOFs last night and also had a few drinks. 
First, I went to the Meet the JavaTM
Foundation Classes (JFC/Swing) Technology Team
BOF.  It was
good to see what the team are thinking, but I’ll let Scott Delap
summarize
Much, much later, I went to the The FindBugs Tool BOF. 
FindBugs is described
as a bug pattern detector.  Basically, it looks at the bytecode
(not source code) for bug patterns, from potential
NullPointerExceptions to equals/hashcode mismatches to unused code. 
It seemed to be a pretty interesting idea, but I’m not sure I’m going
to bother with it.  I’m already using IntelliJ
IDEA 4.5
, and it has a heck of a lot of code inspections for
Java, some FindBugs has, and some it doesn’t.  In addition, I
occasionally use PMD to
check our code when i don’t want to deal with any of the bugs we have
in Jira, but I
want to be useful.  FindBugs looks like it would be a useful
tool in my arsenal, but it’s not essential given the other tools I’m
using.

Before the BOFs, Rich Unger and I went to the party
for Sun Certified Java folk.  We got there too late for the
giveaways and the event, but we got to talk to Bee Ng and get some
beer.  Bee was shocked to hear that I downloaded the SCJD test
in August 2001, but I’ve just never gotten around to finishing it (I
almost finished while between jobs, and I haven’t taken the time to
finish up the RMI).  Maybe I’ll finish someday, and I’ll have to
email her to make sure my submission doesn’t get lost due to
obsolescence.

Between the BOFs, I went to the Thirsty Bear for
some fun and drinking.  While there, I met the infamous Hani
Suleiman
and “crazybob”
Lee
.  They seemed amazingly sane people for all the palaver
they cause on the web.  A good time was had by all.

About Lance Finney

Father of two boys, Java developer, Ethical Humanist, and world traveler (when I can sneak it in). Contributor to Grounded Parents.
This entry was posted in Programming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

