Technical Sessions on Monday

At 2:15, I went to Fast Track to the JavaTM 2 Platform, Standard Edition (J2SETM) v1.5
I was really looking forward to the session for tips and tricks in
getting my application to work in Tiger/1.5/5.0.  That wasn’t
really what I got.  Essentially, that session was an overview of
changes in Tiger, a survey of the changes that are going to be
discussed in detail in later sessions.  That goal is fine, but
there was nothing in the session that earned it an Advanced
rating.  The first part, the overview of language changes like
Generics and Enhanced For Loops, wasn’t really any diferent than what
was covered in the morning general session.  Fortunately, later
discussion on Monitoring, Management, and other tools introduced
concepts that were new to me.  I now know what the BOFs and
Technical Sessions will give me, but I didn’t need to go to that one.

At 3:30, I went to Desktop Application Architecture I: Using the NetBeansTM Platform Application Framework to Create a Rich Client Application.  I wasn’t really interested in the topic, but a friend of mine, Rich Unger,
was presenting.  Rich and I went to college together, and it was
good to see him again here.  The session was actually pretty
interesting.  They were trying to sell the idea of creating rich
clients on the NetBeans platform.  Not using NetBeans as the IDE,
but using its components and modules.  My project
uses a rich client, so leveraging the work already done for NetBeans
would probably have been a great idea, but I think we’re too far into
the process now to redo our windowing system. 

Right now, for the 4:45 session, I’m in Concurrency Utilities in JDKTM Software Version 1.5: Multithreading Made Simpler
It’s a very popular session, and Brian Goetz is doing a good job
presenting the new APIs.  Of course, he gave almost the exact
presentation last year on Doug Lea’s concurrency utils.

About Lance Finney

Father of two boys, Java developer, Ethical Humanist, and world traveler (when I can sneak it in). Contributor to Grounded Parents.
This entry was posted in Programming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

