Not travelling this week – I’ll be geeking

My wife’s job is, in some ways, much more interesting than mine is.  This afternoon, I’m taking her to the airport so she can fly to Hamburg, Germany.  She’ll be there for a couple of days working on some testing, and then she heads to Nice, France, for a few days for a conference.  She returns next weekend.  Meanwhile, I’ll play on my computer.

I am definitely jealous that she gets to travel to Europe for work.  I’ve tried for the past seven years to get a temporary assignment overseas or get transferred or something, but it’s never worked out for me.  I don’t expect too many tears, though – I’ve been to both Hamburg and Nice this year on vacations with my wife, and you can see pictures on this site from the many other trips I’ve taken.  So, I know that I get to travel more than 99% of Americans, and I have nothing to complain about. That doesn’t mean I won’t, of course.

So, this week, I will geek.  I’ve used Linux and Unix for years off and on a school and at work, but I’ve never managed to make it the primary OS on any of my computers.  From both technical and philosophical perspectives, I think that Linux is much superior to Windows XP or Windows 2000, but I’m still in Redmond’s pocket due to inertia and fear of rebuilding the kernel.  I’m going to change that this week.  I’ve downloaded Red Hat Fedora Core 2, SuSE 9.1, Lycoris Update 3, and Xandros Open Circulation. I don’t know which I’ll end up with, but I plan to try them all. I’m also going to be more resilient than I’ve been in the past to actually figure out hardware problems, etc.  This is the type of sun-avoiding geeking that I can do only when my wife is out of town.

About Lance Finney

Father of two boys, Java developer, Ethical Humanist, and world traveler (when I can sneak it in). Contributor to Grounded Parents.
This entry was posted in Technology, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

